The Schubert Ensemble of London

Simon Blendis violin
Douglas Paterson viola
Jane Salmon cello
Peter Buckoke double bass
William Howard piano

Hummel Piano Quintet in E flat Op 87
Mozart Piano Quartet in E flat K493
Schubert Piano Quintet in A D667 ‘The Trout’

Regular visitors to Warwick and Leamington since 1990, the Schubert Ensemble, after thirty five years, is making an extensive final tour before retiring. Their distinguished career has taken them to more than forty countries and in 1998 they won the Royal Philharmonic Society’s coveted Best Chamber Ensemble Award. The Trout is their signature work, but the idea for that instrumental line up came from Hummel, who wrote two splendid examples and that is where the concert begins.

Concert generously supported by Murray Campbell, John Hobley,
Jonathan Holden, Roger Massie and Margaret Pringle