Jack McNeill clarinet, David Le Page violin, Viv McLean piano

Bliss Pastoral
York Bowen Clarinet Sonata Op 109
Elgar Violin Sonata in E minor Op 82
Debussy Etude pour les arpèges composés
Debussy Les soirs illuminés par l’ardeur du charbon
Stravinsky Suite from ‘The Soldier’s Tale’

Jack McNeill, a Leamington Music Prize winner in 2010 returns to the Festival with well known colleagues in a programme of music written during the Great War, with the exception of York Bowen, who was invalided out and wrote his Clarinet Sonata during World War Two. Stravinsky moved to Switzerland during the War and his dramatic Soldier’s Tale was premiered there in 1918, the year in which Debussy died and Elgar wrote one of his finest works.