Festival Extra – Martinů Quartet – Saturday 13 May


Martinů Quartet
Lubomír Havlák and Adéla Štajnochrová violins | Martin Stupka viola | Jitka Vlašánková cello

Beneš   String Quartet No 2 in F Op 30
Martinů   String Quartet No 5
Dvořák   String Quartet No 14 in A flat Op 105


The Martinů Quartet will be performing for the thirtieth time in Leamington and Warwickshire since first coming to the Warwick & Leamington Festival in 1998 – by far the most times for any visiting quartet.

The Quartet comes with some new members and a recently re-discovered Czech composer, Josef Beneš, who lived 1795 to 1873. A distinguished violinist, he wrote two quartets towards the end of his life, the second in 1871.

Concert generously supported by Hugh & Jane Beale

£26 | £16
(£1 children / students)

Martinů String Quartet & Gemma Rosefield cello

Lubomír Havlák and Libor Kaňka violins
Zbyněk Paďourek viola, Jitka Vlašánková cello

Mozart Divertimento in D K136
Glazunov Quintet in A Op 39
Schubert Quintet in C D956

The Martinů String Quartet returns to Leamington following an outstanding concert at the end of November and joins up again with Gemma Rosefield to repeat their striking interpretation of Schubert’s ever popular Quintet and to introduce the audience to the Quintet by Glazunov, written in 1892, during the golden age of romantic Russian music. The concert begins with Mozart’s evergreen, Divertimento in D, written in 1772 when the great composer was just 16 years old and already held the post of Court Concertmaster to Hieronymus Coloredo, Prince Archbishop of Salzburg.

Tickets: £24 and £19 reserved, £14 unreserved sides.

Concert generously supported by Paul & Jane Watts

Martinů String Quartet

Lubomír Havlák and Libor Kaňka violins
Zbyněk Paďourek viola, Jitka Vlašánková cello

Haydn Quartet in B minor Op 64 No 2
Schulhoff Quartet No 2
Dvořák Quartet in F Op 96 ‘American’

The Martinů Quartet maintains the strong ties with the Czech Republic in its twelfth concert for Leamington Music and its current English tour marks the centenary of the founding of the Republic of Czechoslovakia. This concert includes Dvořák’s most popular quartet and offers an opportunity to hear a work by Erwin Schulhoff (1894-1942). Four of his pieces, including his first quartet were programmed in the 2018 Leamington Music Festival Weekend, all of them enthusiastically received.

“…an exquisitely crafted and profoundly moving performance.” The Strad

Concert given in memory of Gabrielle Swabey and generously supported by her friends